Smoky Chicken Seekh Kebab

I am not a fan of seekh kebab specially, it’s shaped weird and it’s Indian but there is something about this one that I loved. Maybe it was the taste of the smoke infused chicken or how hassle free it was to make these, they were a hit on the table.

Now, I come from a family of meat lovers but you’ll soon see that my fascination with meat does not extend to mutton. So when my mom said make seekh kebab today, I was like no,uh huh, absolutely not.  But then I realised it could be made with chicken and honestly, chicken mince is so much prettier to look at.

 

IMG_20170604_182917

It was fun and easy to make and it looks all posh when you serve it and the best of all, it tastes so bloody fantastic, you want to make more of it again and again. And by the satisfied look that guest dadi gave me, I know she will be coming back to house, expecting more food from me.

 

Ingredients:

IMG_20170604_121759

  • Boneless Chicken – 500 gms
  • Onion – 2 medium sized
  • Green Chilli- 3 chopped
  • Coriander Leaves- 6 tablespoons
  • Ginger Garlic Paste- 1 and a half tblspn
  • Garam Masala Powder – 4 tsp
  • Chilli Powder- 1 tsp
  • Chilli Flakes- 1 tsp
  • Coriander Powder- 2 tsp
  • Cardamom powder- 1 tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • Butter- 4 tblspn melted
  • Bread crumbs- 3 normal sized bread
  • Lemon juice- Half lemon

 

 

IMG_20170604_120436

So I took the chicken in a blender. It was washed and chopped up into normal sizes and it was boneless. Nobody wants tiny crushed bones in their kebab’s. So I blended the chicken till it was all mixed and shapeless.

Now, take your onions in the food processor. I chopped my onions pretty big because eventually it had to be mushed so why work harder than I need to. Blend it a little.

IMG_20170604_122405

Then add your chopped up chillies and coriander leaves. Same goes for these too. While I  was chopping my chillies my mom was yelling from the background, just add them na! Just add them! So I did.

I also didn’t chop up my coriander leaves because well, I suck at chopping coriander.

IMG_20170604_122635

Blend it till it is all mixed and a lovely green.

IMG_20170604_122826

Then add ginger garlic paste. My mom keeps both mixed and in a paste form so if you don’t have  the paste, don’t sweat, just add it like that. And blend it up real good.

 

Now, take the minced chicken in a bowl. Or be messy and just keep it in your blender if you don’t want to touch your chicken. Empty the beautiful green paste in it.

 

Now add garam masala, cardamom powder and salt.

Also add your coriander powder, chilli powder and flakes. You don’t have to use both chilli powder and flakes. I like the color of chilli powder and taste of chilli flakes so I add a little of both. #whimsofateenager

Mix the spices up real nice.

1497024780316

Now, add your melted butter, lemon juice and bread crumbs. You really have to mix it up nicely. I was using my spatula until mom spotted me and said,” shift” and used her hands to really mix it up nicely, so I suggest you do the same or act all princessy and make sure your mom walks in.

1497024817795

Now comes my favourite part. I learned this from my mom. You don’t have to do it but believe me, it really influences the flavour of the dish and adds the Smokey in smokey chicken seekh kebab.

Take a piece of coal and heat it over the gas top till it is red hot. You have to make a tiny hole in the middle of your chicken.

1497024830497

As soon as it is red hot, you pick it up with the help of your tongs (Don’t try to be superwoman or your mom) and place in the middle.Add ghee over it and don’t get fascinated with the smoke and quickly cover it with the lid. And now, you may take your breath.

Let this rest atleast 30 minutes. You can let it rest as long as you want but at least 30 minutes in the fridge.

There are three methods to shape it.

1497024880198.jpg

  1. The one I learned online. Take a little portion and  roll it into a log. Place your skewer in the middle and push it in. My mother scoffs at this one.
  2. 1497024924526.jpgThe one my mother prefers when guests coming. Take small portion and make an oval ball. Push the skewer inside from below and then press it nicely.
  3. 1497024951080.jpgThe one my mother prefers when guests are not coming so she doesn’t want to use skewers. Take a pen. Shape your meat around it and remove the pen as you pull out your kebab. I don’t fancy this one but it works.

1497024979571.jpg

I used my lined non stick pan to add depth and history to my kebabs. Heated some butter and then popped them right in. Make sure your cook all the four sides to a nice light brown color that glistens because of the extra butter you added when mom wasn’t looking.

IMG-20170609-WA0017.jpg

 

I served mine with chilled coleslaw to make it non desi and some green chutney to make it desi.  Honestly, it was a hit and it actually turned out delicious. The chicken made it non desi and gave it a contemporary​ taste.

It can be served at your get togethers or be a hit at an event thrown by your parents and a dish where the guests won’t even have to lie about how good it is.

Feel free to ask your doubts and I will definitely get them answered because if I don’t know, my mom certainly will and try the recipe and let me know which of the three methods did you choose to form your kebabs!

-A

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

